Reset 3D Arrangement issue

Ask about specific settings, like fabric properties, or the difference between the sewing tools. These would be things you would expect to see in a software manual.
Post Reply
mike.pole
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jun 23, 2019 3:26 pm

Reset 3D Arrangement issue

Post by mike.pole » Sun Mar 01, 2020 8:50 am

Hi,
in the months that I've used MD 8, I've never had any luck with the 'Reset 3D Arrangement' after a simulation.
Rather than resetting the patterns "back to their position prior to the last simulation", it flings them out like an explosion.... (I always have to use Undo). Is there something silly that I'm not getting?
1. Before simulation
1 Pre-sim.jpg
1 Pre-sim.jpg (42.34 KiB) Viewed 2329 times
2. After simulation
2 Post-sim.jpg
2 Post-sim.jpg (41.15 KiB) Viewed 2329 times
3. After hitting Reset 3D Arrangment
2 Reset 3d.jpg
2 Reset 3d.jpg (53.52 KiB) Viewed 2329 times

Rosemaryr
VIP
VIP
Posts: 391
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2015 2:18 am

Re: Reset 3D Arrangement issue

Post by Rosemaryr » Wed Mar 04, 2020 1:40 pm

Reset does not mean "back to their position prior to the last simulation". It means reset to the first position they were created in, *unless* they had been assigned to one of the Arrangement points. From your first picture, it seems you are manually placing the pattern pieces, not using the AP system. What you can do instead, if you want to continue using the manual placement, is to use the History window to save the current state of your project. Find it on the left edge of the screen, just under the Library flyout.

mike.pole
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jun 23, 2019 3:26 pm

Re: Reset 3D Arrangement issue

Post by mike.pole » Sun May 03, 2020 2:33 am

Aha.... got-it, belated thanks!

StephenMarz
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun May 03, 2020 11:37 pm

Re: Reset 3D Arrangement issue

Post by StephenMarz » Sun May 03, 2020 11:42 pm

Hey there, so I'm having trouble with this aswell and AP system can be problematic esp with imported avatars.
So just checking, there's definitely no way to define a reset position for patterns in the 3D window without arrangement points?

Rosemaryr
VIP
VIP
Posts: 391
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2015 2:18 am

Re: Reset 3D Arrangement issue

Post by Rosemaryr » Mon May 04, 2020 1:17 pm

If you didn't use any Arrangement Points when setting up the garment (ie., you placed/rotated each pattern piece manually), then the program can only reset to the original 2D layout arrangement. If you are having problems with imported avatars not getting an automatic AP setup, you can create one yourself. Go to the menu Avatar>Avatar Editor then the Arrangement tab in the pop-up menu window. Use the + sign to add a Bounding Volume or Arrangement point, and place and adjust those manually to your satisfaction. Save the setup as a custom, if you are going to use that avatar again.

Post Reply