Material clinging in to itself

Ask about specific settings, like fabric properties, or the difference between the sewing tools. These would be things you would expect to see in a software manual.
ReDSpideR

Material clinging in to itself

Post by ReDSpideR » Wed Oct 25, 2017 1:13 pm

Hello, I will try to keep this brief;
I am new to MD so I sincerely apologize if this is covered somewhere?

My garment creation was going pretty smoothly until recently, anytime I simulate, move, or create new patterns it will begin to oddly cling and fold in and crunch in on itself. I would describe it as if it were spinning folds?

I am a little confused as to how to problem solve this.

Here is a screenshot
Screenshot (14).jpg
Screenshot (14).jpg (595.51 KiB) Viewed 1271 times
Side note, what are these lines?
Screenshot (17).jpg
Screenshot (17).jpg (539.81 KiB) Viewed 1271 times
I have tried multiple things, I don't think I changed any big settings? unless by accidental hotkey, because I'm new to this software, I am mainly using clicking at the moment.

I appreciate any feedback,
Thanks!

Rosemaryr
VIP
VIP

Re: Material clinging in to itself

Post by Rosemaryr » Wed Oct 25, 2017 1:31 pm

It's hard to see without seeing a complete screenshot of the 2D pattern window showing all the patterns and their sewing lines, but that kind of behavior is typical for an incorrectly sewn seam... In other words, one (or more) of the seams has either gotten it's connections to a pattern piece where it shouldn't be, or the seam is connected with the wrong ends together.

On your side note, did you do a merge of patterns? Those lines often are retained after a merging occurs.

ReDSpideR

Post by ReDSpideR » Wed Oct 25, 2017 2:51 pm

Ah yes, those lines are where I've merged. Cool to know =)

As for the sewing, all seems in order. I'm really wondering if I touched some sort of simulation setting? hmmmm very curious.

Here is the sewing and patterns
sewing.JPG
sewing.JPG (137.06 KiB) Viewed 1264 times