Curved Sleeve for Male Sports Jacket

If you're using PatternMaker PRO with MD, here's a great place to show off your work or ask questions. All subscribers and non-subscribers are welcome to participate.
kmwhitt

Curved Sleeve for Male Sports Jacket

Post by kmwhitt » Sat Nov 26, 2016 3:06 am

Hi everyone. I am new to PMPro and this forum as of this morning. After reading the book and manual, I was able to make a few men's jackets as seen in the first attachment. I must say I am impressed at how easy it is to make clothing using PMPro - very glad to have found it.

My request may seem a bit unusual as I am creating these garments to use in a master closet visualization, so instead of an avatar wearing my designs, they will be on clothes hangers and rendered in Vray after export. I am having the most difficult time getting the sleeves to curve in towards the bodice. Every sports jacket I own and those I see online have this bowed sleeve when the jackets are hung - reference images attached. I have tried every sleeve type available in PMPro with no success. I've even tried cheats like placing denser fabric inside the arm openings in the hopes that the sleeves would rest against the bodice. Further, I played around with material settings for hours and still no luck. My hanger is modeled just as in reality - bow and all and placed at the appropriate angle to the floor simulating the weight of the garment. Can someone tell me how to modify a sleeve pattern to get this effect or is there a force in play that I have not thought of? Thanks, Kevin.

PS - I watched Lori's intro to MD6 today also. I am excited about being able to use buttons in my work. Does anyone have any idea when this version will be released to the public?
Attachments
01.jpg
01.jpg (176.26 KiB) Viewed 1523 times
REF_Closet Clothing_11-14-16_Page_7.jpg
REF_Closet Clothing_11-14-16_Page_7.jpg (229.71 KiB) Viewed 1523 times
REF_Closet Clothing_11-14-16_Page_6.jpg