How Do You Trace Patterns & What Pieces Go Where

Are you lost in MD because you don't know anything about sewing? Are you a skilled seamstress? Meet up here and help each other out.
MorgaineChristensen
VIP
VIP

How Do You Trace Patterns & What Pieces Go Where

Post by MorgaineChristensen » Mon Jun 08, 2015 6:11 pm

I am a hobbyist MD User and my knowledge of real world sewing is like ancient. I often find some interesting patterns on the Internet but for the life of me, I can't figure out how to trace some of the pieces or how they are suppose to be sewn together. They seem to be squished together. Often, the patterns will be from other places around the world, from old books, newspapers, costumes etc.

Case in point are some of the patterns listed below. I mean really, what do you do with the tabby thing on this older garment? On the middle pattern, I understand you trace the front out in 3 pieces and sew together, but what about the back? Do use the two upper pieces on the back or just sew the back as is to the front and unfold the 2 top pieces at shoulder and side for the back? And this simple dress strapped summer dress, do I trace the back piece beginning at the dotted line at the top?

Sure I could experiment, but that would be major frustration if there is an easier way to determine what to trace and how to put them together? Maybe you just need an eye for these things! One I don't seem to have!

Thanks in advance, I appreciate the help!
Morgaine
Attachments
d10b7c456c3c11134cd22cdf0a214155.jpg
d10b7c456c3c11134cd22cdf0a214155.jpg (141.27 KiB) Viewed 2417 times
1209239e2218d54ac3e9432b6feeb817.jpg
1209239e2218d54ac3e9432b6feeb817.jpg (113.28 KiB) Viewed 2417 times
www.pinterest.com.jpeg
www.pinterest.com.jpeg (64.68 KiB) Viewed 2417 times

Rosemaryr
VIP
VIP

Re: How Do You Trace Patterns & What Pieces Go Where

Post by Rosemaryr » Tue Jun 09, 2015 2:35 am