UV Mapping

Does your virtual world need a bit more high fashion? Ask for help or give advice here.
Taylor

UV Mapping

Post by Taylor » Tue Aug 09, 2016 10:28 am

Hello :)

First of all I am really glad I have found this forum, exactly what I have been looking for for ages.

Anyone, I am new to all this and learning like mad right now with blender and would like to know how people actually make their textures. Some textures are really in-depth, where you see every stitch, every letter on a jeans button, etc. I would like to texture like that but can't figure out how they are doing it.

Do people take real clothes, cut them out and lay on UV Map or do people make those textures on their own. Also, where can I find how to texture UV Maps with an example of jeans or something really high quality? Do I need Avastar for clothes only, isen't it more a tool people use for animations, etc.... or is it because it is already rigged? I am really lost in this jungle, also as to getting the development kits for the mesh bodies at SL ... any help is highly appreciated :)

LoriGriffiths

Re: UV Mapping

Post by LoriGriffiths » Fri Aug 12, 2016 10:44 pm

Hi Taylor,
Welcome to our forum. I'm glad you found it, too. I'm not a Second Life person, but from what I've seen SL is very low resolution. The level of detail you are talking about would probably be very high resolution. I don't think it would work in SL.

You can achieve photorealistic details using Blender. You can use nodes in Cycles with UV mapped materials. To get the level of quality you're talking about, you'd need fairly complex node networks. There aren't a lot of people that teach this and probably not for free.

Good luck.

MorgaineChristensen
VIP
VIP

Post by MorgaineChristensen » Sat Aug 13, 2016 1:15 am

Taylor wrote:Hello :)

First of all I am really glad I have found this forum, exactly what I have been looking for for ages.