How to best make a pattern fit a given avatar?

Create posts showing how things are done or link to outside pages to help others find valuable resources.
davidjcalabrese

How to best make a pattern fit a given avatar?

Post by davidjcalabrese » Mon Apr 25, 2016 4:25 am

I'm still new to sewing & MD, so this might be a silly question: how does one prevent extra folds or other non-flat areas in the simulated garment when it doesn't fit perfectly? It would be great to see a cheat-sheet like, "If you're seeing the fabric do this strange thing, adjust the pattern like this..."

LoriGriffiths

Re: How to best make a pattern fit a given avatar?

Post by LoriGriffiths » Mon Apr 25, 2016 2:02 pm

There are two ways to get clothes to stay on an avatar in MD. You can follow the apparel industry standards for pattern drafting so they fit like real clothes, or you can make them very tight. Most people make them very tight, particularly when they are just starting out.

If you turn on your strain map for your dress, I'm sure it is a bright red. If your clothing is tight, it will deform like this. I can't see your patterns, but I'm guessing if you make them larger, it will not look correct because they aren't the shape they need to be.

Drafting patterns from scratch is a big challenge. Few people know how to do it, even in the real world. I created a program that drafts patterns for MD. I did it for this very reason. If this interests you, you can find it here - https://patternmakerpro.com.

The only other way to get good fit is to study real world patterns and understand the shapes you need to draw to make garments. Download some of my free project files at Fearless Makers (https://www.fearlessmakers.com) and study them. That may help you.

Sorry, there's just no easy fix for this.

Rosemaryr
VIP
VIP

Re: How to best make a pattern fit a given avatar?

Post by Rosemaryr » Mon Apr 25, 2016 2:13 pm